The Possibilities Are Endless…Or Are They?

Ever since my reality check over the weekend (and before that), I’ve been googling like a madwoman to try and find possible leases for this year (hopefully the rest of high school actually!).  So far I have a few possibilities which I will organize for my own sake and in case anyone has any input.  I’m going to be completely honest and open with money and so forth to ensure I can weigh each option accurately.

In no particular order…

  • Half lease Angel at Larkspur: lease fee (unsure right now, possibly $5,000/year), half of board ($700/month), half of farrier, lessons ($65/lesson)
  • Half lease at Twin Bays Ruby: lease fee ($8,000/year), half board ($900/month), insurance ($62.50/month), lessons ($60/lesson)
    Image

    Ruby

  • Half lease private horse, Nemo: board and farrier split with owner (anywhere between $350-$600/month), lessons (depend on trainer at Nemo’s barn)

 

  • Half lease at WRC, Citi or Tucker: lease fee ($500/month), lessons ($55/lesson)

Image

Citi

Image

Tucker

  • Half lease (I think…) Sophie at Chester Hill: not sure of pricing yet for this one

Image

Sophie

Image

Sophie

 

Most of these options right now are WAY over budget. However, I’m waiting to hear back from Nemo’s owner as well as Chester Hill.  I was very interested in WRC, but after visiting their barn today, I wasn’t that thrilled.  I’m not crossing it off my list, but let’s just say that it is definitely important to do that initial visit of a barn after googling it.  Despite the humble facilities, the two owners were very nice and I will probably take a lesson there soon to see how I like their instruction.

Nemo’s owner has been very sporadic with responding to me, but when I do get answers things sound pretty good.  I might try and go see her this weekend if her owner ever responds…

I just discovered Chester Hill tonight while googling, and though it’s a bit further than I or my parents would like (30 min), it seems very promising.  Plus, it’s halfway between my house and school (which is 45 min. away).  I already started plotting the rest of my year, packing breeches in my backpack and driving straight from school to the barn…hehe 🙂 Anyway, they have some horses listed on their site available for lease and one of them is a green jumper named Sophie who looks adorable.  Hopefully green also means not as expensive…?? haha 

I get my cast off a week from today which is making me very antsy.  I’m so eager to ride and figure a situation out for this year that every night when I finally lie down to sleep my brain is still running a million miles an hour!

-Val

4 Comments

Filed under Bitch Life, Riding, Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Possibilities Are Endless…Or Are They?

  1. Looks like you have a lot of good options! Some of those first ones seem like it would almost make more financial sense to buy a greenie, but I don’t know your situation fully.

    • Val

      Oh if I could I would absolutely buy a horse. However, it was a struggle even getting my parents to agree to riding 3 times a week versus just once a week.

  2. There’s something about the look of Citi that I really like, and he seemed a bit cheaper. He just looks really intelligent and game- and I’m getting the ‘grump’ or the ‘speedy demon’ vibe from the other photos- but of course they’re just photos so can’t tell much from one still shot. BUT OMG, wherever you live, board is so ridiculously expensive.

    When I was broke, I ended up riding all of the crazy ones for free. Or the babies. I worked at the barn a few times a week and in exchange my trainer let me “take over” some of the project ponies and helped me with it. While it’s not as nice as riding a made horse, it’s always an option if you can’t find anything budget-wise. I’ve never leased, because it always just seems absurd to me the money you have to spend on one… but it is a good way to afford a really nice solid horse to help you progress. So I hear. I’ve never really ridden a made horse, so I wouldn’t know 😉

    • Val

      One of the cons of living here is that barns know that they CAN charge this much and people will pay. 😦 And not just for barns but everything is this ridiculously expensive! It stinks!

      I wish I could find someone who would let me ride their greenies but I’m still looking…

Leave a Reply

