Happy (early) Halloween!

I know I’m two days early, but that’s ok, today is as good a day as any.

unnamed-2Harry Potter the vomiting pumpkin….

As Halloween approaches, I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to do this year to celebrate.  What do seniors in high school do on Halloween?  Oh wait, I know the answer! Go to a costume party and drink.  Ooh oooh or maybe sit at home watching Halloweentown and eat milky ways!  Either way, I wanted to do something this year.

I started asking around and do you know what the responses were?  “I am so stressed how are you not stressed?”  “I cannot possibly go out on a Friday night because college apps am I right??” “I have to get into MIT how do you expect me to go out on Halloween!?!”

Ok, maybe I made up the last one.  But seriously people, it’s our last Halloween at home.

This year it feels like many of my friends are stressing so much about getting into college that they’re forgetting to enjoy their senior year.  And, to be quite honest here, I understand them because I’m in the same boat, but at the same time, I have to ask myself “why on earth would anyone put themselves under so much pressure?”.

I understand that not everyone tackles challenges the same way.  However, I like to take the “get ‘er done” method and just get things over with.  That’s what I did for the college process and it worked pretty well for me.  I did the textbook method of starting visits spring break of junior year (but not before!), SAT once junior year and once senior year, starting the common app and supplements over the summer, and finally narrowing it down to a feel schools to overnight at fall of senior year to ultimately decide on one for early decision.

Again, I know everyone is different, but I just can’t imagine working myself to the breaking point over college.  

Oh, and back to my actual Halloween plans….I’ll probably be closer to the second scenario.  I’m still trying to gather some not college psycho friends to hang out.  If all else fails I’ll go to the barn (in full zebra costume) and just hang out with the horses, then go home and watch horror movies until i cry….

Enjoy a picture of me with my seventh graders that I mentor.  We had a great afternoon carving pumpkins, drinking cider, and eating cookies!

unnamed-1

-Val

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Happy (early) Halloween!

  1. I was like you, I didn’t freak out over college applications. Hope your last Halloween as a high school student ends up being great 🙂 your first Halloween as a college student will be even better!

Leave a Reply

