You Don’t Know What You’ve Got Until It’s Gone

I finally rode Angel yesterday after over a month of riding Andy.

IMG_8663I’m a happy camper!

I knew that I missed her but I didn’t realize exactly how much I missed her.  Even when I go to the barn and ride Andy, I still make sure to stop by and see Angel.  But, there was something about getting to groom her, tack her up, and ride her that just stopping by her stall doesn’t fulfill.

I’ve never taken my riding for granted.  Ever.  However, when I was leasing Angel it was easy to assume that I would always ride her.  That I could see her whenever I wanted.  That I would never go more than two days without being out at the barn.  Now that I’m back to the once a week lesson rider status, I can look back and appreciate how lucky I was.  I know I am still lucky now, but you get the idea.

This is a classic scenario of you don’t know what you have until it’s gone.

IMG_8662

But, lucky for me, Angel isn’t gone gone.

In addition to be stoked just to be riding her, we actually had a fantastic ride.  It felt so classic autumn: dusk falling all around us, and yet we were sticking it out in the outdoor ring until seriously bad weather forces us inside.  Angel’s been clipped so she wore her cooler and everything!  🙂

IMG_8677

Not to mention, I informed Sam, the trainer I was lessoning with, that the jump he had previously been calling “pink”  was really more of a “Nantucket red.”  Oh, Sam….

-Val

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “You Don’t Know What You’ve Got Until It’s Gone

  1. “You Don’t Know What You’ve Got Until It’s Gone” sad but true… at least you got to ride Angel

    • Val

      Exactly…And when I mentioned that she’s not really gone gone, I was hinting at the near future when I’ll (cross my fingers) get to lease her again!

Leave a Reply

