Am I Crazy?

After a chat the other night with one of my horsey friends, I did something crazy.  Well, not really crazy.

I know we all do this, the online window shopping of horses…  Browsing mounts that are way over budget and all that… Somehow, on one of my first searches, I found a horse for lease 10 MINUTES AWAY FROM MY SCHOOL.  I don’t know if you guys know this, but I commute 45 minutes to school everyday, so fitting in riding time is always the issue.  Well, on a whim I emailed the horse’s owner.

Basically, she said the lease terms would be $375 a month for the half lease which would cover everything (this is unheard of in my county, luckily it’s in the next county up), but it would be very flexible.  She said I could go three days a week one week, but if I was busy or something and couldn’t even ride for a week I could go everyday the next week.  Basically, she’s working and wants her horse to have more to do.  He’s an “8 year old 16hh hunter for half lease. QH x Warmblood Bay w/ 4 white socks and blaze”.  She said she’s only jumping him 2’3-2’6 right now but when she had him at college in a consistent work schedule he would do up to 3’3.

I’v been emailing back and forth asking all the typical questions (medical, vices, etc. etc.) and I think I will go meet him next week.  However, every time I start to get really excited about this opportunity to have flexible access to a horse, I start wondering about Angel.  I still want to lease her, but she’s just soooooooo much more expensive.  I don’t know what to do.  Perhaps I could do the lease, but still take the occasional lesson at my other barn?  I don’t know. I don’t know….

Enjoy the pictures of “Harley” from his owner:

IMG_10265475824679_resized 20141123_122529-1_resized IMG_10252803137445_resized IMG_10356815325061_resized 20141005_140238_resized

Anyone have any advice?  I’ve been at my current barn since I started riding over 10 years ago and I don’t want to sever ties, but I just want to ride more without blowing all of my parents money, ya know???

-Val

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Am I Crazy?

  1. Harley looks very cute! Best of luck, whatever you decide to do 🙂

  2. Good luck with meeting him! Everything will work out in the end and he looks really good in those picture! Best of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

