Full Swing

Everything is back into full swing now after Christmas break. I had a FANTASTIC first ski race. Despite placing 66th out of 90 or so girls, I’m really happy with how it went. My goal by the end of the season is to place in the top half. Considering I have never raced for real before, I’m excited to have something like this to commemorate my senior year.

2015/01/img_9317.jpg
I was going to ride Angel earlier in the week, but she was super frisky in turnout which led to her being sore so she got an extra day off. Anyway, I ended up having 3 fantastic rides on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday (today). However, before my lesson on Friday I was running late so I only half changed . As a result I wore a regular bra instead of a sports bra, which I haven’t worn riding in FOREVER and for good reason. The straps were slipping like crazy and I’m pretty sure at times during the canter they slipped completely off. It was pretty hilarious/ridiculously annoying! Saturday and Sunday I just hacked and we did some of the best flatwork we’ve done in a long time.

2015/01/img_9310.jpg
It turns out that Angel was a bad girl for her other leaser on Thursday. The second the girl got on Angel took off around the ring and she fell off. After Angel was lunged and schooled by somebody else, the girl got back on and Angel took off again. I hate to sound like this, but I think it’s a sign….. Plus, Angel was a superstar for me the past couple days (albeit energetic).

2015/01/img_9290.jpg
Have you ever had any clothing mishaps while riding? Are you a sports bra rider or a traditional bra rider?

-Val

2015/01/img_9313.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Full Swing

  1. Ugh, sports bra 100 percent of the time, learned from experience. My other wardrobe malfunctions include trying to wear paddock boots with no half chaps due to laziness — that did not work out. Also wearing jackets with no zipper pockets, resulting in dropped phones and, in one case, a lost barn key! I live and learn. 😉

    • Val

      Zipper pockets are a must!!! I’ve had my phone fall so many times that I’m pretty sure dirt/sand/footing is permanently stuck in the tiny cracks and crevices.

  2. I can only ride in a sports bra otherwise I might just take my eye out at the posting trot!

  3. Sports bra or if i’m out of clean ones, I have a couple racer-back bras that solve the whole slipping strap problem.

Leave a Reply

